jump to navigation

At The Gates of Darkness February 25, 2010

Posted by faelix in ocity.
trackback

No, for those of you who are strange enough to be followers of my blog, I have not gotten any weirder than usual. I’ve recently finished reading Raymond E. Feist’s latest book – At The Gates of Darkness. I was given it as a Christmas present and finished getting around to reading it just a few days ago.

This post is not about the story, but the book itself. I like to have matching books, so it’s a hard cover book. I truly hope that when people get to read it in paperback format that they have another read through before it goes to print. “They” being the people who say “yes, let’s send that to print.”.

I have no idea what a publishing house does, but I would assume they check that the spelling is correct, that grammar is correct, that the story is consistent – within the one book at least. I hate to think that Mr Feist is so pressured that he no longer cares what his audience is reading, but I was quite disappointed in the quality of this latest book.

A male dwarf named Keandar is introduced in one chapter, to later be referred to as Kendra for the rest of the book (sounds like a female to me!). There was a use of “to” instead of “too” and I’m sure there was also an instance of “it’s” instead of “its”. Surely this is not acceptable?

And I have to say, it’s not the first instance I’ve noticed in these books. I have the revised edition of Magician, and Kulgan is referred to as “Fulgan” at one stage.

Bad grammar and inconsistencies like this may be a bit more tolerable in the newspapers, but not in books that are going to be kept for years and years. Please, Mr Feist, don’t make me want to correct these books.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

