jump to navigation

In the kitchen May 1, 2011

Posted by faelix in curi-ocity.
trackback

MasterChef is starting again tonight. Blah blah blah. I will probably only watch the last two weeks of episodes again. It’s too painful to watch otherwise. I’m no professionally trained chef, but as my friend’s sister said: “It’s insulting.” It’s not insulting to me personally, but oh my god! These people have no clue!

I also detest watching a lot of other cooking shows.. Why? Because they’re so damned messy! It’s ok for -them-. They have someone to clean up their kitchens for them, wash all their dishes, clean their floor. I’ve got better things to do than clean up, so I try to ensure I keep things clean and tidy.

Which is why it was refreshing to hear the start of Jamie Oliver’s Thirty Minute Meals where he says “… a wet cloth under your chopping board…” Aside from him and my mum, I’ve never seen any tv cook, or any other person I know, put a wet cloth under a bowl or chopping board to prevent it from slipping and sliding around. There’s no need to buy fancy bowls with anti-slip grippers underneath, or suction cup thingamies. Just a wet cloth. Simple.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

