jump to navigation

Goodbye Google Reader November 17, 2011

Posted by faelix in ocity.
trackback

I belatedly discovered Google Reader about 2 years ago, and liked it so much that I blogged about it.

Then Google decided to “revamp” it and they made it all unreadable. I started to unsubscribe from things and was all ready to just stop bothering with reading. Then I discovered that netvibes does a reader view (instead of its usual widget view).

I logged in to netvibes (with my account that I’d started there back in 2007!) and imported my subscriptions that I’d exported from Google Reader. I’ve already subscribed to another blog!

Goodbye Google Reader. I’ll come back when you un-suckify your site.

Comments»

1. Greg Black (@evenhanded) - November 18, 2011

Thanks for reminding me about Netvibes. I’ll try it beside Google Reader for a few days and maybe switch.

2. faelix - November 20, 2011

I haven’t gone back to Google Reader yet. There was an overlap of a few hours, but except for missing the “explore” feature, I have stuck with Netvibes. My subscriptions are enough of a time-suck as it is without needing more to explore!


Leave a Reply

